Midland Service Improvement Group (MSIG)
"improving service delivery through critical challenge and the sharing of knowledge"
About Us
Midlands Highways Alliance Plus
MSIG Bulletins
Strategic Project Fund
Calendar of Meetings and Events
Your Feedback
Support Officer
Task Group Attendance
Task Group Reports
Terms of Reference
Other Groups
Task Groups

About The Group

This Group was established in 1997 as the Midlands Regional Best Value Group to deal with matters concerning Best Value and Performance Management, specifically within the Highways and Road Safety Disciplines of Local Authorities. 


The founder members of the group were; Cheshire, Derbyshire, Herefordshire,  Lancashire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Rutland, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Worcestershire.


In September 2003, the group changed its name to the current Midlands Service Improvement Group. This better reflected the aims and purpose of the group and allowed MSIG to be embedded as a beacon of good practice and service improvement.


In late 2006 MSIG expanded to 18 members with the City Unitary Authorities of Derby City, Leicester City, Nottingham City, Stoke on Trent and Telford & Wrekin joining the group.


In 2009 Cheshire County Council split into two separate Authorities; Cheshire East and Cheshire West & Chester.


Late 2011 saw Coventry City Council become the 20th Authority and 5th City Council to join the group.

The group continues to grow and in 2013 Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council are welcomed as the 21st member Authority. Most recently, in 2018, Cumbria County Council have become the 22nd MSIG member.

MSIG is currently made up of 15 different Task Groups who operate under the guidance of the Steering Group which is chaired by Mike Ashworth of Derbyshire County Council. Mike now also chairs the Midlands Highways Alliance and work is underway to bring the two alliances more closely together.


 The pivotal role of the Support Officer was introduced in 2002 to help facilitate the work of the Task 
 Groups and act as a link between them. The current Support Officer is Alice Russell who was
 appointed into the role in January 2015. 

Alice can be contacted on 07500835864 or by email to Alice.Russell@derbyshire.gov.uk

Terms of Reference for the groups can be found by using the navigation bar on the left.